Cheap Cosmetics Review

March 23, 2010

Just to let you know

Filed under: Uncategorized — aspiringrolemodel @ 5:13 pm

I am in the process of moving this blog to

http://www.cosmetics-savings.com

I hope you can follow me there.

Thank you.

March 17, 2010

Grab it now: Neal Yard’s Power Berry Daily Moisture, 50ml for £3.50

There is a very good offer going round at the moment: if you buy Marie-Claire magazine (April issue), you get a tube of Neal Yard’s Organic Power Berry Daily Moisture. I don’t usually buy women’s magazine as there are too many adverts for the price (£3.50). However, the face cream alone is worth it: a 50ml tube of this would set you £10 back. So you get the tube for £3.50 and get some light train reading thrown in. Now I haven’t tried the “Very Berry” moisturiser yet: I am trying to finish my pot of (disgusting) No7 Time Delay Moisturiser… But, I did get to try the Lavender version of Neal Yard’s Face moisturiser last year and it was fabulous: really penetrated my skin fast, felt very rich and smelled gorgeous (though it might be off-putting to some people). I only needed to use small amounts on my face, so little in fact that the 50 ml tube lasted me for 4 months. Needless to say, I am looking forward to finishing my No7 moisturiser so I can move on to this “Very Berry” baby…

March 11, 2010

Boots No7 Amazing Eyes Pencil

Filed under: make up,Vouchers — aspiringrolemodel @ 1:03 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

Hello girlies! Today I have decided to talk about No7 Amazing Eyes pencils, despite the fact that you can probably find a cheaper eye pencil somewhere else… Well I did find something cheaper: at Primark. And let me tell you that I felt the meaning of “you only get what you paid for” on my poor eyelids: their pencils are so hard, you might as well take a normal sketching pencil to your own eyelids and waterline. Let’s just say that after irritating your eyes for ages, you “might” end up with a shadow of colour. Bashing aside, the No7 Amazing Eyes Pencil can be just as cheap as the Primark one: just remember the magic vouchers that Boots give out from time to time. Those vouchers are only given to you if you have spent a minimum of £5 in store and entitle you to redeem £5 off your next purchase of Ruby & Millie or No7 cosmetics. There is no minimum spend, so you can pick up the cheapest product in the offered range and end up paying as little as £2 for their pencils or eyeshadows. If I am reviewing the pencils now, needless to say i will be using my next voucher for the eyeshadows. Watch out, review coming soon. Now, down to business. The Amazing Eyes pencil come in 4 different shades: chrome (silver), blue/grey, black and brown. The crayon is soft enough so it does not feel like you are scoring your eyelids when applying it. The colours are gorgeous… So gorgeous that I used my chrome/silver pencil on my wedding day.

Of course, you will need to check on your waterline (lower eyelid) regularly if you want perfect results throughout the day. I have yet to encounter an eye pencil that can resist the constant duct tears attack. When applied to the upper eyelid, the crayon actually lasts very well (it was still there at 2 am after my wedding day). I also use my grey and black pencils to produce a smoky eye effect: the brushes at the other end of the pencil allows you to smudge everything in sight. It’s also handy if you want to expertly transform a mess into a smoky mess J The brush can also let you transform your eye pencil into an eyeshadow: I wanted to have silver on my eyelids but had run out of powder, so i used my chrome eyepencil instead, applied a generous layer of it and then smudge the whole lot with the brush. All in all, a wonderful little handbag staple. My only reservation is that the brush can feel a bit “harsh”.


Digg!

Five Bourjois lip glosses for £9 (inc delivery) worth £6 each

Filed under: make up,Vouchers — aspiringrolemodel @ 10:10 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

This online offer and 10% off code came in this morning from the moneysavingexpert website. I haven’t tested the lipglosses myself but I thought I would spread the word.

“Get five Bourjois Eau De Gloss lip glosses for just £5 at Halfpriceperfumes.co.uk. Individually these can cost from £3.50 up to £6.99 each, so it’s nice saving. It’s max one set per person and is highly rated by our MSE forumers, read the Bourjois Forum Discussion.

What’s more spend more than £10 on your order and get 10% off. Just enter the code hpp10off at the checkout before Weds 17 Mar.

The code’s valid on all items on the site including clearance, the one day specials and the 3for2 special offers.

Delivery for Halfpriceperfumes is £3.95.”

Enjoy!


Digg!

March 10, 2010

I had to share this… part 2

Filed under: Tutorials — aspiringrolemodel @ 2:01 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I am preparing for a photoshoot this friday and I cam across these 2 fantastic tutorials.

The flapper look

Just Bitten makeup tutorial


Digg!

Bourjois Liner Feutre – a review

Filed under: make up — aspiringrolemodel @ 12:25 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

No, I am not featuring a Bourjois product just because it sounds French but simply because I love it to bits. My teenage attempts at drawing the right upper eyelid black line were always resounding of failure. It would always end up with me reaching for the cotton ear buds (if things were mediocrely passable) or plainly for the cotton pad and the eye makeup remover (if said line looked more like a treasure map than anything else). At this point, I feel I have to mention that I was stuck using the “brush” eyeliners… You know the ones that call themselves brush but only have 2 or 3 hairs in them, bend in every possible direction but the one you want it to go and discharge the actual black liquid straight into one spot if not in your eye? Yup, I was using those. Frustrating, huh?

“Pencils exist too” you might say, but I never managed to get the actual pencil close enough to my eyelashes so I could uniformly colour my line. I was always left with that line of skin that shows through your eyelashes, not cool either. To be honest, I was about to give up on lining my eyes with black when I came across Bourjois’ Liner Feutre, all thanks to the makeup artist who did my face before my first tv spot. I have been converted ever since. The felt tip allows you to draw your line as thin or as thick as you want. It also gives you full control as to what direction you want the ink to go: there is no spill, no blob and it is all applied uniformly. After a bit of practice, I even manage to apply it on the train on my way to work (yes, well, provided I find a seat and know when the bumpiest tracks are).

To be honest, this is probably the best instrument you could ever have to colour your eyeline with. This Liner Feutre is available from Superdrug and Boots in black and brown and sells for approximately £5.


Digg!

March 8, 2010

Suitable Hair Gels for the Curly Girl Method

If you too are following the CG method, you would already know that a very important part of our daily routine, after co-wash and conditioning, is to apply a hair gel and then “plop” our hair for about 30 minutes.

For those of you who are unfamiliar with “plopping”, here is a refresher video.

I do not know about products in the US but it is quite hard for us UK girlies to find products that are suitable. Most of the help we find on the internet is aimed at the US market. Also, finding the right hair gel can be a minefield considering that some alcohols have a drying effect on your hair while others do nourish your hair.

One thing I had been trying lately was to use 100% Pure Organic Aloe Vera Gel from Holland & Barrett. It did hydrate my hair and felt “fresh”… However, it only had limited hold and was giving very little curl definition. I looked like a fried poodle by the end of the day. The thinking behind using this gel (normally made for skin) was the idea that it didn’t contain any nasties.

Then, on recommendations by a fellow UK curly girl on the naturallycurly.com forum, I tried VO5 Mega Hold gel. It will set you back about £3 in Superdrug. It did give me the right curl definition but I was running out of this pretty fast. I needed to buy one of these every 6 days! Not so much a price to pay if you consider that I used to be on Frizz Ease serum every single day. At £5 for a tiny bottle, I was pouring money into my hair.

I decided to trawl the forums yet again and managed to find this little marvel: Boots Essentials Extra Firm Hold Gel. At only 89p for 250ml, it is a bargain! It does the same thing as the VO5 Mega Hold gel and contains no nasty drying alcohols. It also fits in very well with the new experiment I have been trying out: mixing essential oils with my hair gel. This allows me to apply oils evenly without causing any mess and spills and keep my dry and porous ends hydrated throughout the day.

What kind of essential oils do I use? Well, I do my own mixes see. I pour my Boots hair gel into a 350ml container and I make up the remaining 100ml with my oils. I mainly use a good serving of jojoba oil and melted pure coconut oil first (about half each) and then I add a few drops of Lavender oil which helps tame the frizz. If you feel like you want to have a “just fresh” feeling, then you can also add a few drops of tea tree oil.

As a rule of thumbs, the above mix lasts me for about 2 weeks. All essential oils can be found at Holland & Barrett.

Give it a try and let me know how you get on!

Digg!

March 4, 2010

Joico K-Pak Deep Penetrating Reconstructor – a review

This review might be under the Curly Girl category, but this product is a miracle worker for anyone with damaged hair.

I am a curly girl and for a very long time, I was guilty of not treating my hair right. Years of using silicon-based products culminated with the irreparable damage some stupid hairdresser inflicted on my hair with a pair of GHD straighteners and a curling iron. All of this because they were trained to think that “hair is hair, all hair is cut and treated like straight hair”. No consideration for curlies out there.

When I decided to apply the curly girl method, I chose to go for a protein based diet for my hair. And this is where Joico Deep Penetrating Reconstructor comes in. Please note that this product is officially only available from salons, but huge 1 litre bottles can be purchased on ebay for about £30.

First off, this product, contrarily to your usual shop-bought conditioners, is very thick. So thick that I have trouble squeezing it out of the bottle. It also does not contain any “nasties” for us following the curly girl method: no “cones”, no sulphates and it actually contains keratin (which is what your hair is made of).

The smell is absolutely lovely to me but could put other people off. It reminds you of a tropical island with scents of banana and mango/papaya.

The results, if you follow the rules by the letter, are amazing. This has brought back the springs in my curls. To anyone following the curly girl method, my hair was a usual frizzbucket and I could manage with silicon-based products were some botticelli curls that would end up dry and limp at the ends. Thanks to Joico, my hair now gives me lovely and tight corkscrew curls.

However, there are limitations. Because proteins are only good for your hair in small doses, this should not be used as a daily conditioner but as a biweekly treat maximum (once a week if your hair is reasonably healthy). Please keep in mind it is a “reconstructor”. Also, if it states to leave on your hair for only 5 minutes, there is a reason to this. While proteins would help reconstructing your hair, too much proteins for too long could also leave it brittle. So my advice is never to use this as a leave-in conditioner. If you want to do this, there is a Joico K-Pak conditioner I will be reviewing soon.

Also, the other limitation I have found is the fact that it is recommended to use the Joico K-PAK Moisture Intense Hydrator after having used the Deep Penetrating reconstructor. Why? you may ask. Well quite simply, the reconstructor does not moisturise your hair for you, it only “rebuilds” it. Using the reconstructor without the hydrator could leave your hair feeling “dry” and a bit haywire. All of this product application and rinsing madness does not make for a quick passage in the shower.

So to sum things up, here are the cons:

– relatively expensive (the recontructor and hydrator cost £30 for a litre each on ebay)

– relatively time-consuming

– only has limited use (frequency and cannot be used as a leave-in conditioner for slip)

And the pros:

– I would qualify this as being a miracle product, no less.



Health


Free Ovi Maps: 1.4 million downloads this week!!
Beauty Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory
QR74NAAHKYJK


Digg!

February 28, 2010

LIDL Suhada Nature Rice Bamboo Night Cream – a review

Filed under: Moisturisers — aspiringrolemodel @ 7:02 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Everyone that reads this blog knows that I absolutely swear by the Iseree day and night cream. It’s all natural that when LIDL had a new “brand” of cosmetics to offer, I felt compelled to try it. It comes in a tube rather than a pot and the screw-on top is imitation wood. A nice presentation touch that makes it appear a bit more upmarket compared to its Iseree cousin if you ask me. The cream in itself is quite thick and smells lovely to me. However, I would presume that said smell might put some people off (starting with my other half). I know I am prone to feel quite dry in the mornings due to our central heating kicking off ½ hour before we get up so I usually pile my night cream on. The usual Iseree one gets absorbed quite quickly. This one needs a good rub though but as previously mentioned and in its defence, the Suhada cream is actually thicker than Iseree’s. My skin still feel moisturised in the mornings. My only reservation is possibly that it may not be suitable for people with oily skin or serial clogging pores: I wake up with a bit of an oily film on my skin. Nothing seriously as unpleasant as how your skin feels in the morning before you wash it. The retail price in my local LIDL is £4. It’s definitely worth trying for that price.


Health


Free Ovi Maps: 1.4 million downloads this week!!
Beauty Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Digg!

February 26, 2010

Primark Eyeshadows Review

Filed under: Eye Shadow — aspiringrolemodel @ 7:41 pm
Tags: , , ,

Finally got to see that I was not the only one willing to try the lower price tags. A very well detailed review of Primark’s Eyeshadows…

Click here.




Health


Free Ovi Maps: 1.4 million downloads this week!!
Beauty Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory


Digg!

Next Page »

Blog at WordPress.com.